January 6, 2020

The Wabash County Board of Commissioners met in regular session in the Wabash County Courthouse on Monday, January 6, 2020. Auditor Marcie Shepherd called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. with all three commissioners present: Barry J. Eppley, Brian K. Haupert and Jeff D. Dawes. The proceedings were recorded by Wabash County Auditor Marcie Shepherd. Shepherd requested nominations for the commissioner chairman. Eppley made a motion to nominate Brian K. Haupert as commissioner chairman for 2020. Dawes seconded the motion; it passed by a 2-0 vote. Shepherd turned the meeting over to Chairman Haupert. Haupert requested nominations for vice-chairman. Eppley made a motion to nominate Jeff Dawes. Haupert seconded the motion; it passed by a 2-0 vote. The minutes of the December 23, 2019 meeting were reviewed. Eppley made a motion to approve the minutes as written. Dawes seconded the motion; it passed by a 3-0 vote.

The commissioners were assigned to the following boards:

Central Dispatch Advisory Board - Jeff Dawes

County Tax Abatement Committee - Jeff Dawes

Emergency Management Advisory Council - Brian Haupert

Local Emergency Planning Commission (LEPC) - Brian Haupert

Northeast Regional Partnership – Barry Eppley

Northeast Indiana Mayor & Commissioners Caucus - Barry Eppley

Personnel Administrative Committee - Barry Eppley

Plan Commission Board - Jeff Dawes

Public Records Commission - Brian Haupert

Region III A – Brian Haupert

Transit Advisory Board - Barry Eppley

Grow Wabash County Board - Brian Haupert

All three commissioners are members of the Drainage board, Redevelopment Commission, and Solid Waste Management board.

The following individuals were also requested to be appointed:

Geoff Schortgen - Plan Commission board

Terry Knee, Bob Lundquist, and Jon Rosen – Property Tax Assessment Board of Appeals (PTABOA)

Larry Hoover and Mary Kramer – Wabash City Plan Commission

John Adams – Laketon Area Regional Sewer District

Eppley made a motion to approve all of the above board/commission appointments. Dawes seconded the motion; it passed by a 3-0 vote.

Cole Wyatt, County Highway Superintendent, presented an agreement with Butler Fairman and Seufert for construction inspection services for Bridge 144. Eppley made a motion to approve the agreement. Dawes seconded the motion; it passed by a 3-0 vote.

Tyler Guenin, Wabash County Chief Deputy Sheriff, reported that the Wabash County Jail currently has 80 inmates, with 30 additional being housed in the Miami

January 6, 2020

County Jail and 29 in the Elkhart County Jail. Last week there were 10 book-ins and 21 transports to other facilities. The peak population was 92. The total inmate count was 161.

Mark Frantz, County Attorney representative, was present with nothing to report.

Jim Dils, County Coordinator/HR Director was present with nothing to report.

Marcie Shepherd, Wabash County Auditor, presented:

- 1. Accounts payable claims and allowances for docket ending 1/6/2020.
- 2. Payroll claims and allowances for pay period ending 12/28/2019. The commissioners approved all claims.

Commissioner Eppley made a motion for Wabash County and Heartland Career Center to apply for FY2019 EDA Disaster Supplemental program grant and that the county pledge \$50,000 toward the match requirement. Dawes seconded the motion; it passed by a 3-0 vote.

Commissioner Dawes made a motion for Commissioner Eppley to head up the grant process and be authorized to sign on behalf of the commissioners, as needed, throughout the grant process. Haupert seconded the motion; it passed by a 3-0 vote.

Commissioner Eppley made a motion for the commissioner chairman to have the authority to sign all documents on behalf of the county. Dawes seconded the motion; it passed by a 3-0 vote.

With no other public comment or other business to come before the Board of Commissioners, the meeting was adjourned. The commissioners will next meet on Monday, January 13, 2020.

Also present: First Deputy Auditor Shelly Baucco, Wabash County Central Dispatch Director Sandy Beeks, Wabash County Clerk Lori Draper, LaFontaine Gravel representative Jed Dirk and Garmong Construction Services representative Michael Johnston.