## **September 21, 2020**

The Wabash County Board of Commissioners met in regular session in the Wabash County Courthouse on Monday, September 21, 2020. Chairman Brian K. Haupert called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. with all commissioner's present: Haupert, Barry J. Eppley, and Jeff D. Dawes. The proceedings were recorded by Wabash County Auditor Marcie Shepherd. The minutes of the September 14, 2020 meeting were reviewed. Eppley made a motion to approve the minutes as written. Dawes seconded the motion; it passed by a 3-0 vote.

The following proposed ordinance was presented for review and approval.

# ORDINANCE 2020-85-09 AN ORDINANCE REGULATING THE COUNTY EXTENSION EDUCATOR'S PLAN COMMISSION MEMBERSHIP AS A NON-RESIDENT

Pursuant to LC. 36-7-4-208(a) (4), as amended, the Wabash County agricultural extension educator must be a resident of Wabash County to serve on the Wabash County Plan Commission as a voting member.

Pursuant to I.C. 36-7-4-208(e), the Wabash County agricultural extension educator who is a member of the Wabash County Plan Commission on July 1, 2020, and is not a resident of Wabash County, may continue to serve as a voting member of the Wabash County Plan Commission until October I, 2020, or a later date adopted by an ordinance not to be later than October 1, 2021.

The Wabash County agricultural extension educator serving on the Wabash County Plan Commission as of July 1, 2020, is a non-resident of Wabash County.

It is in the best interests of Wabash County to allow the non-resident Wabash County agricultural extension educator to continue to serve as a voting member of the Wabash County Plan Commission past October 1, 2020.

#### IT IS THEREFORE ORDAINED:

I. The Wabash County agricultural extension educator that is a member of the Wabash County Plan Commission on July 1, 2020, and is a non-resident of Wabash County, may continue to serve as a voting member of the Wabash County Plan Commission until December 31, 2020.

Adopted this 21st day of September, 2020.

### BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF WABASH COUNTY

Eppley made a motion to approve Ordinance 2020-85-09 Regulating the County Extension Educator's Plan Commission Membership as a Non-Resident. Dawes seconded the motion; it passed by a 3-0 vote. Eppley made a motion to suspend the rules and move to second reading. Dawes seconded the motion; it passed by a 3-0 vote. Eppley made a motion for approval on the second reading. Dawes seconded the motion; it passed by a 3-0 vote.

Cole Wyatt, County Highway Superintendent presented a permit application for Frontier Communications to install service at 5555 S 100 W. Eppley made a motion to approve the permit. Dawes seconded the motion; it passed by a 3-0 vote.

## **September 21, 2020**

Ryan Baker, Wabash County Sheriff presented the jail report. Wabash County Jail currently has 84 inmates with 47 additional housed in the Miami County Jail, 9 in the Tipton County Jail and 14 in the Elkhart County Jail. Last week there were 15 book-ins and 12 transports to other facilities. The peak population last week was 89. The total prisoner count is 157.

Keith Walters, County EMA Director reported he will be out of the office Thursday to Sunday. Bob Brown, Assistant EMA Director will be covering for him.

Mark Frantz, County Attorney representative, was present with nothing to report.

Marcie Shepherd, Wabash County Auditor presented:

- 1. Accounts payable claims and allowance for docket ending 9/21/2020. Dawes made a motion to approve all claims. Eppley seconded the motion; it passed by a 3-0 vote.
- 2. On behalf of the Clerk of the Courts, Shepherd presented two agreements to appoint Jane Barlow and Janet Bowling to serve as members of the Absentee Board. Eppley made a motion to approve both appointments. Dawes seconded the motion; it passed by a 3-0 vote

With no other public comment or other business to come before the Board of Commissioners, the meeting was adjourned. The commissioners are scheduled to next meet on Monday, September 28, 2020.

Also present: Chief Deputy Auditor Shelly Baucco, Jim Christie, and Cory Dietz.

WABASH COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS